Adult Contemporary Music Masterpieces

AOR & West Coast Pop Music Masterpieces



PM must be the one of the best but most underestimated late 80's AOR group. Peter Mayer, the lead vocalist, guitarist and main songwriter of the group grew up in India and came back to the states in 1966. In the 70's (his high school days in St. Louis), Peter started to get into bands and played songs by Chicago, Styx, Super Tramp, the pop music of the day. Gradually, Peter started to listen to the contemporary jazz music and was drawn by music released by ECM Records, Keith Jarret, Gary Burton and one in particular, Pat Matheny. In 1980, Peter was hired to teach Jazz Guitar at Webster University. Peter formed a band called "Left Lane" with Roger Guth, Jim Mayer, both of whom had formed PM with Peter later, and Ray Kennedy (key). They recorded an contemporary jazz flavored vocal album "In Common" in January 1985 co-produced and engineered by Jay Oliver, which was released only in Sweden in the same year.
Thereafter, Peter decided to return to his songwriting pop and rock'n'roll roots. And Peter, Jim and Roger started to pursue a record deal with major label as PM. It is known that some of their demo recordings was released on a hard-to-find cassette "PM". It did not take so long before several major labels offered to sign with PM and they signed with Warner Bros. They went to Los Angeles and picked Elliot Scheiner, who had worked with Steely Dan to produce their first album. In 1988, the album was finally released and the first single "Piece Of Paradise" began to climb Billboard Charts and peaked out at # 8 on the Adult Contemporary Chart. They toured with the Moody Blues and Chicago over the U.S.A and got great responses from the audiences. It is easily to prove how marvelous all the 12 tunes on this album are by showing the fact Vanessa Williams covered "Moonlight Over Paris" on her smash hit album "The Sweetest Days" (1994). You may be a little surprised to find Sheryl Crow as a back-up singer. PM played a lot of clubs in St. Louis and for a time they had two back-up singers, one of whom was Sheryl Crow!


  • Label: Warner Bros. Records, USA (Vinyl: 9 25751-1, CD: 9 25751-2)
  • Original Release Year: 1988
  • Producers: Elliot Scheiner and themselves
  • PM is:
    • Peter Mayer: Lead Vocals, Guitars, Keyboards
    • Roger Guth: Drums, Keyboards
    • Jim Mayer: Bass, Backing Vocals
  • Additional Musicians:
    • Keyboards and Programming: Jay Oliver
    • Backing Vocals: Sheryl Crow, Lynn Fiddmont
  • Tracks:
    1. Pieces Of Paradise
    2. Say It Again
    3. Moonlight Over Paris
    4. Nothing
    5. Somebody's Gonna Cry
    6. Grown Men (Bonus Track only for CD version)
    7. The Waiting
    8. On The Corner
    9. When First We Were Lovers
    10. Boy Meets Girl
    11. Love Is A Stranger
    12. I Live In A Hole (Bonus Track only for CD version)


Other Albums (Discography)

In spite of their commercial success, Warner Bros. did not support them well and obliged to decide to leave the label in 1989. They made a decision to start back in the clubs again, trying out the new songs on the hometown audience. In 1990, the second album "Street Of Dreams" was recorded at the home studio of Jay Oliver and released only on a cassette. The CD version "Street Of Dreams" (1993 limited edition of 2,500 copies) includes "Love Blue", "Kiss And Tell", "Cowboys And Indians" and "Rose In The Rain" additionally recorded in 1991, instead of "Room For Love". It is not known that joined them on backup vocals on the title track "Street Of Dreams" because we could not find guest credit on this album jacket.
In 1993, PM also released their 3rd album "Red Wine & Lemonade", which became the last album of PM. However, Peter Mayer is continuing to release his solo albums with Jim Mayer and Roger Guth. As of September 30, Peter Mayer released 3 solo albums, i.e., "Green Eyed Radio" (Original Release: 1995 , Commercial Version: 1997 <Pool Party Records, USA, PPR9505> , Little Flock Music Reissued Version: 2000), "Romeo's Garage" (1999, Little Flock Music, USA <LFM-1001>) and "Spare Tire Orchestra" (1999, Little Flock Music, USA <LFM-1002>).



PM / Street Of Dreams

  • Label: Shadow. Records, USA (SR21150)
  • Release Year: 1993 (* original cassette version release: 1990)
  • Producers: themselves
  • Guest Musicians:
  • Tracks (CD Version):
    1. Wind On The Water
    2. Right Time To Tremble
    3. Tender Moments
    4. River Cirt Sundat
    5. My Intuition
    6. Love Blue
    7. Nothing To Lose
    8. Restless
    9. Between Love
    10. Bang! Bang! Bang!
    11. Street Of Dreams
    12. Sister Annie
    13. Kiss And Tell
    14. Cowboys And Indians
    15. Roses In The Rain


PM / Red Wine & Lemonade
  • Label: Shadow. Records, USA (SR21151)
  • Release Year: 1993
  • Producers: themselves
  • Tracks:
    1. Love Is The Right Thing
    2. Red Wine And Lemonade
    3. Last Train To Eden
    4. The End
    5. India
    6. My Intuition II
    7. I Need Life
    8. Liberty Lies
    9. Legend Og The Faithful Man
    10. Blue Sky Rider
    11. Follow Me



Waiting for your Email to:

JavaScript must be enabled to display this email address.