Adult Contemporary Music Masterpieces

AOR & West Coast Pop Music Masterpieces

Pages / Pages



Pages, the one of the best AOR group cannot be forgotten among us. In 1977, Pages released their debut single "I Get It From You" c/w "If I Saw You Again" produced by Bobby Colomby. And their first album "Pages"(Original Vinyl: Epic, USA 35459, Reissued CD: Epic Europe 475861 2 <1994>) was followed. Their highly sophisticated jazz-influenced progressive rock music with Westcoast harmonies was as remarkable as Steely Dan in late 70's. The original members of the group were as below:
  • Richard Page: Vocals, Guitars, Keyboards
  • Steve George: Keyboards, Vocals
  • Peter Rainhazer: Guitars
  • Jerry Manfredi: Bass
  • Russ Battelene: Drums
In 1979, Pages released the excellent second album "Future Street" (Original Vinyl: Epic USA 36209, Reissued CD: Epic Sony, Japan ESCA5888 <1991>) including their masterpiece tune "Who's Right, Who's Wrong". You can find Charles Icarus Johnson as the guitarist of Pages replacing Peter Rainhazer and George Lawrence joined as a new drummer on this album. Although both of Epic albums were really excellent, they were underestimated. Pages signed with Capitol Records for releasing their third album "Pages", which was recorded with many guest musicians listed below. (Band members except Richard Page and Steve George had been left when the third album was recorded. John Lang was credited as a member of Pages, who never played on the album but wrote lyrics.) Pages completed their own marvelous music style with Jay Graydon, the producer of this album. The key of the Pages music is said to be the sound of Fender Rhodes and Mini-moog played by Steve George. Again, this album was also underestimated, which led the end of the band history.
As you know, Richard Page and Steve George had come back three years later as Mr. Mister, who was very successful with smash hit singles "Broken Wings" and "Kilye" on their 2nd album "Welcome To The Real World" (1986).

Pages / Pages (1981)

  • Label: Capitol Records, USA (12123)
  • Original Release Year: 1981
  • Reissued CD Release: 1st: September 27, 1989 <Toshiba EMI, Japan (CP21 6061)>, 2nd: August 8, 2001 <Toshiba EMI, Japan (TOCP-53189)>
  • Producers: Jay Graydon and Bobby Colomby
  • Pages is:
    • Richard Page: Lead Vocals, Back Vocals
    • Steve George: Fender Rhodes, Mini-moog, Yamaha CS-80, Oberheim, Clavinet Piano, Back Vocals
    • John Lang
  • Guest Musicians:
    • Guitars: Steve Khan, Charles Johnson, Jay Graydon
    • Bass: Neil Stubenhaus, Abraham Laboriel
    • Drums: Jeff Porcaro, Ralph Humphrey, Vince Colaiuta, Mike Baird
    • Percussion: Paulinho Da Costa
    • Sax: Tom Scott
    • Vocal Effect: Al Jarreau

  • Tracks:
    1. You Need A Hero
    2. Tell Me
    3. O.C.O.E. (Official Cat Of The Eighties)
    4. Come On Home
    5. Sesatia
    6. Only A Dreamer
    7. Automatic
    8. Fearless
    9. Midnight Angel


Waiting for your Email to:

JavaScript must be enabled to display this email address.