Adult Contemporary Music in Japan

A.O.R (Adult Oriented Rock) / Fusion Music PAGE


Clif Magness


Clif Magness (1994)

Clif Magness was born in Texas on April 24, 1957 and started his professional music carrier in 1980 by 2 solo singles release titled "The Rest Of The Night" and "There's Nothing So Expensive As Woman Who's Free For The Night" under Scotti Bros., USA. Clif came across his fatal songwriting partner whose name is Glen Ballard in 1983 and they wrote the song titled "It's Gonna Be Special"for the motion picture "Two Of A Kind" performed by Patti Austin. They started to produce many albums from 1984 such as "All I Need" of Jack Wagner. In 1991, The two talented songwriters released their own album with Jay Graydon as the super group Planet 3. After the success as a singer, Clif released his first solo album in 1994 by the request of Empire Records, Sweden. Throughout the 1990s and in to 2000, Clif continued to work with outstanding artists such as Celine Dion and Amy Grant. In 2003, Clif produced the biggest breakout artist of the year, Avril Lavigne.With the success of Avril Lavigne, Clif has continued to break new ground writing and producing a whole new group of young superstars including Cherie Amore, Jessica Simpson, Kelly Clarkson, O-Town and many others.

In 2009, Clif re-released his solo album"Solo" available on iTunes. Physical CD has followed by YESTERROCK, a newly founded Classic- and Hard Rock label based in Munich, Germany, which is specializing in re-issuing records that either havenft been available for years or previously only released on vinyl but not on CD yet. All tracks of the original album are digitally re-mastered. The re-issue contains two unreleased bonus tracks.



  • SOLO
    • Label : Empire Records, Sweden (Toshiba-EMI TOCP-8538), [Re-release: YESTERROCK, Germany]
    • Release Date: late 1994 (Japan: April 26, 1995) [Re-release: June 24, 2009]
    • Producer : Himself
    • Clif Magness: Lead & Background Vocals, Guitars, Keyboards
    • Musicians:
      • Keyboards: Glen Ballard
      • Guitar: Jay Graydon
      • Background Vocals: Martin Page, Aina Olsen. Mark Mueller
    • Tracks:
      1. Footprints In The Rain
      2. It's Only Love
      3. Hold Me Lee Anne
      4. One Way Out
      5. Khalela
      6. Jenny's Still In Love
      7. Only You
      8. If We Can't Do It
      9. Flower Girl
      10. What's A Heart To Do
      11. Solo
      12. Dreams Fade Away
      13. Ready Or Not
      14. Black And White (2009 re-release bonus track)
      15. Running Forever (2009 re-release bonus track)


Clif Magness / Solo

-Swedish Original Version-

Clif Magness / Solo (Japan) -Japanese Version-


Waiting for your Email to:

JavaScript must be enabled to display this email address.