Adult Contemporary Music in Japan

A.O.R (Adult Oriented Rock) / Fusion Music PAGE


Tom Keane


Tom Keane is well-known as the co-producer, arranger , songwriter with David Foster's related works at present. But You must remember that he is also one of the most talented vocalists.
Tom Keane had released his first single record "Sherry" with his younger brother John Keane in 1976 when he was only 12 years old as The Keane Brothers. In 1979, They released their album titled "Taking Off"(ABC Records AA-1122) which was produced by Lamont Dozier, David Foster and David Paich.
Tom and John made a group named "Keane" and released their 1st album "Keane" in 1981 and 2nd album "Today, Tomorrow and Tonight" (CBS Sony 25AP2366 ...Japanese LP Number).
For your information, Jason Scheff played bass guitar as a member of "Keane" in their 2nd album.


I Love A Gershwin Tune

As the album title shows, Tom sings 6 tunes of famous composer Gershwin listed as below. Do not worry, not so jazzy. Tom would arrange those into stylish westcoast smooth jazz vocal tunes.

  • Label: aosis records, Japan distributed by Victor Entertainmnet (VICL-69012)
  • Release Date: April 21, 2000
  • Producer: Kaz Masumoto
  • Keyboaards and Vocals: Tom Keane
  • Additional Musicians:
    • Guitars : Michael Landau
    • Drums : John Keane
    • Bass : Ted Landau
    • Bass & Electric upright Bass : Jason Scheff
    • Tenor Sax : Larry Wiliams
    • Hand Percussion : Luis Conte
Tom Keane / I Love A Gershwin Tune

  • Tracks:
    1. Embraceable You
    2. 'S Wonderful
    3. Someone to watch over m
    4. Summer Time
    5. Love is here to stay
    6. They can't take that away from me



As the album title shows, this second CD are songs that Tom have had covered by other artist. Such as Chaka Kahn, Barbra Streisand and Celine Dion etc...... Most of the songs are fairly old. But it sounds good. Tom sings some of them and on some and play melody on a synthesizer.

  • Label: aosis records, Japan distributed by Victor Entertainmnet (VICL-69037)
  • Release Date: January 24, 2001
  • Producer: Kaz Masumoto
  • All Arrangements, Keyboards, Programming & Vocals : Tom Keane
  • Additional Musicians:
Smoove' And Juicy Covers

  • Tracks:
    1. Through The Fire
    2. Tell Me What I Gotta Do
    3. One More Time Around
    4. Will You Still Love Me
    5. No One Emotion
    6. Loving Every Moment







Waiting for your Email to: