Adult Contemporary Music in Japan

A.O.R (Adult Oriented Rock) / Fusion Music PAGE


Tommy Funderburk

It might be needless to say who is Tommy Funderburk, I think he is the most important vocalist in the AOR scene. Tommy was born in North Carolina on May 6, 1952. He moved to Los Angels in 1978 and had a chance to meet David Foster and Jay Graydon who were searching a talented vocalist for recording the legendary album "Airplay".
In 1984, Tommy released the album titled "The Front" (distributed by minor Label named Refuge Records) as the rock group named "The Front" with Bob Wilson (drummer ex.Seawind) supported by Larry Williams(keyboard) and Dan Huff (guitar). In 1987, he released the album titled "What If" (RCA 5909-1-R) as the rock group named "What If" with Bob Wilson and Larry Williams supported by Michael Landau (guitar), Dan Huff (guitar) and Bill Champlin (backing vocals). In 1994, We could hear his excellent high-tone vocals on 2 albums, one is the album of King of Hearts with Bruce Gaitsch, the other is Boston's 4th album "Walk On" (MCA MCAD-10793).



The Dwelling Place (by Funderburk Minor)

    • Label : Pioneer LDC (PICP-1095)
    • Release Date: April 9, 1996
    • Producers: David Miner and himself
    • Musicians:
      • Violas: Novi Novog
      • Percussion: Walter Rodriguez
      • Background Vocals: Kate Miner, Tata Vega, Yvonne Williams,Reggie Burrell
    • Remarks : This is one of Contemporary Christian Music album by Tommy Funderburk with David Miner. This CD has already been released and distributed by Nexos in Sweden in the spring of 1995.


  • Tracks:
    1. Behold, He Does Not Sleep (Psalm 121)
    2. The Calling (Phillipians 2)
    3. Holy, Holy, Holy
    4. He Walks With Me (Psalm 23)
    5. Be Still (Psalm 46)
    6. How Great Thou Art
    7. Resurrect My Eyes
    8. All Of My Love
    9. Dwelling Place (Psalm 91)
    10. Rain On Us
    11. Great Is Thy Faithfulness
    12. Always (The Great Commission/Matthew 28:18-20)



Anything For You

    • Label : Frontiers Records, Italy (FRCD 218) <Japan: King Records (KICP-1031)>
    • Release Date: January 24, 2005 (Italy), January 26, 2005 (Japan)
    • Producer: Fabrizio V.Zee Grossi
    • Tommy Funderburk ; All lead and background Vocals
    • Musicians:
      • Bass: Fabrizio V.Zee Grossi
      • Keyboards: Fabrizio V.Zee Grossi, Arny Rothstein
      • Guitars; JM Scattolin, Rob Vanni, Phil Brown
      • Drums: Joachin Cannaiuolo, Biggs Brice


Tommy Funderburk / Anything For You
  • Tracks:
    1. Learning How To Love
    2. Remember Our Love
    3. Anything For You
    4. Only You Can Give Me
    5. To Say You Love Me
    6. You Got The Love
    7. Skin
    8. The Garden
    9. Second Chance
    10. Say A Little Prayer
    11. Dig A Littile Deeper (bonus track for Japan)










Waiting for your Email to:

JavaScript must be enabled to display this email address.