Adult Contemporary Music in Japan

A.O.R (Adult Oriented Rock) / Fusion Music PAGE



Boy Meets Girl


Boy Meets Girl

Boy Meets Girl is the pop duo comprising George Merrill and Shannon Rubicam. They released their first album including smash hit "Oh Girl" in 1985 from A&M Records which was typical West Coast Pop album.

They are also well-known songwriter team who wrote "I Wanna Dance With Somebody (Who Loves Me)" for Whitney Houston in 1987. In 1988, the second album titled "Reel Life" which includes American Top 40 Hit "Waiting For A Star To Fall".

The 3rd album "New Dream" should have followed in 1991.However, this was never officially released anywhere in the world. Only very limited number of promotinal CD's seemed to be distributed in the music industry.

Thus, we had to wait for Boy Meets Girl music over the decade before they re-embarked their musical journey with 4th album "The Wonderground" in 2003, which is released under the name of "Boy Meets Girl Music".



Boy Meets Girl

Boy Meets Girl

  • Label: A&M Records, USA (CD 5176)
  • Release Year: 1985
  • Producer: Tom Werman
  • Musicians:
    • Drums: Michael Jochum
    • Bass: Leon Gaer, Kyle Henderson
    • Percussion: Steve Forman, Tom Werman
    • Emulator, Vocoder: Richard Gibbs


  • Tracks:
    1. Oh Girl
    2. Don't Tell Me We Have Nothing
    3. The Touch
    4. Kissing, Falling, Flying
    5. From Now On
    6. Be My Baby
    7. In Your Eyes
    8. I Wish You Were Here
    9. Pieces
    10. Premonitions
Reel Life

Reel Life

  • Label: RCA Records, USA (8414-2-R)
  • Release Year: 1988
  • Producer: Arif Mardin and George Merrill
  • Musicians:
    • Drums: Denny Fongheiser, Michael Jochum
    • Bass: Leon Gaer, Kevin McCormick
    • Guitars: John Goux, John Morton
    • Mandolin: Eric Williams
    • Keyboards: Joe Mardin, Kerry Hatch, Richard Gibbs
    • Sax: Andy Snitzer, Larry Williams
    • Additional Vocals: Susan Boyd, Joe Turano
  • Tracks:
    1. Bring Down The Moon
    2. Waiting For A Star To Fall
    3. Stormy Love
    4. Is Anybody Out There In Love
    5. Stay Forever
    6. If You Run
    7. One Sweet Dream
    8. No Apologies
    9. Restless Dreamer
    10. Someone's Got To Send Out Love
New Dream

New Dream

  • Label: RCA Records,USA <never-released> (German promotinal copy: PD-82413)
  • Release Year: No official release (limited promotional copy : 1991)
  • Producer: Phil Ramone, Arif Mardin, John Martin and George Merrill
  • Musicians:
    • Keyboards: C.J. Vanston, Joe Mardin
    • Guitars: Bootsy Collins, Jeff Baxter, John Morton, John Goux
    • Drums: Michael Jochum
    • Bass: Leon Gear
  • Tracks:
    1. New Dream (Move Me In The Way Of Love)
    2. Bird In Hand
    3. Love This World
    4. Boy On My Mind
    5. If Things Were Different
    6. Flying The Cosmos
      (bonus track)
    7. Be True / Soul Connection
    8. Indigo Drums
    9. Free
    10. Mission
    11. Everybody's Somebody's Baby
The Wonderground

The Wonderground

  • Label: BoyMeetsGirl Music,USA
  • Release Date : Janurary, 2003
  • Producer: George Merrill


  • Tracks:
    1. Aah Song
    2. This Chronic Pain
    3. Climbing
    4. My Desire
    5. The Wonderground
    6. Drug Of Choice
    7. Make It Up
    8. Birds Of A Feather
    9. Second Chance
    10. Don't Remind Me
    11. Sacred Heart


    • 45rpm EP: A&M Records, Japan (AMP-239)
    • Release Date: January 25, 1986
    • Remarks : "HEARTBREAKER" was advanced release singe from their second album which was originally scheduled to release in the spring season of 1986 from A&M Records. But,their second album "Reel Life" was actually released in 1988 from RCA without including this track.
      This song was used in TV commercial film of prepaid telephone calling card in Japan.



    • From the album:"Number One With A Bullet"
    • Release Date: January, 1989
    • Remarks :This is the self-cover version of their smash hit song originally performed by Whitney Houston


Waiting for your Email to:

JavaScript must be enabled to display this email address.